Connect with us


Race 8: View From The Couch

Paul Govers Notes from the Couch after Race 8

  • Easily the best Supercars race in a very long time. Cam Waters and Scott McLaughlin showed that rubbing is still racing.
  • Proof positive that the Dunlop tyre allocation for Sydney Motorsport Park is an A-plus winner. Forcing teams to compromise on their tyres through the three races has shuffled the order and created action at the start and finish.
  • The Jamie Whincup fairytale didn’t quite come true. Even so, to get pole position and second place in his 500th start shows his class.
  • Nick Percat capitalised on a good car and tyres, scoring his first win since 2016. It was the way he won, going consistently quick and pouncing on Whincup, that showed he still has the right stuff. Great also to see the Dunlop livery on the car from Brad Jones Racing.
  • Shane van Gisbergen never starred, but should bounce back with better tyres in Race 3. Red Bull-HRT confirms he has a knee injury, suffered while running, but it’s not affecting him in the car.
  • Questions to be answered on the heroes and zeroes. Lots of drivers struggling with tyres, but also perhaps handicapped without the usual engineering support in a tight timeframe.
  • James Courtney still learning his Ford Mustang but solid in 9th and one of the big improvers from the grid. Also second of the Tickford Racing cars.
  • Normal service resumed at Erebus, with David Reynolds rebounding from a lacklustre Saturday for fifth place and ahead of Anton De Pasquale in 12th.
  • Barry Ryan is the only Team Principal in pitlane under crew restrictions, but earning his keep on the tools.

Race 8 Result

1Dunlop Super Dealer RacingNick PercatHolden Commodore3250:14.125
2Red Bull Holden Racing TeamJamie WhincupHolden Commodore3250:17.306
3Shell V-Power Racing TeamScott McLaughlinFord Mustang GT3250:30.572
4Mobil 1 TM Appliances OnlineChaz MostertHolden Commodore3250:33.894
5Penrite RacingDavid ReynoldsHolden Commodore3250:36.087
6Monster Energy RacingCameron WatersFord Mustang GT3250:37.171
7Red Bull Holden Racing TeamShane van GisbergenHolden Commodore3250:37.627
8IRWIN RacingMark WinterbottomHolden Commodore3250:38.497
9Boost Mobile RacingJames CourtneyFord Mustang GT3250:43.108
10NED Whisky RacingAndre HeimgartnerFord Mustang GT3250:47.695
11DEWALT RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore3250:51.720
12Penrite RacingAnton de PasqualeHolden Commodore3250:52.651
13Truck Assist RacingLee HoldsworthFord Mustang GT3250:53.306
14Supercheap Auto RacingJack Le BrocqFord Mustang GT3250:53.487
15Shell V-Power Racing TeamFabian CoulthardFord Mustang GT3250:57.136
16Team CoolDriveMacauley JonesHolden Commodore3251:03.982
17Local Legends RacingAlex DavisonHolden Commodore3251:07.437
18Brut Military GradeTodd HazelwoodHolden Commodore3251:08.185
19Castrol RacingRick KellyFord Mustang GT3251:10.927
20Mobil 1 TM Middy’s RacingBryce FullwoodHolden Commodore3251:11.707
21Yellow Cover RacingGarry JacobsonHolden Commodore3251:14.246
22Team SYDNEYChris PitherHolden Commodore3251:19.962
23SCT Motor SportsJack SmithHolden Commodore3251:27.921
24UNIT RacingJake KosteckiHolden Commodore3150:28.255



Latest Enforcer and the Dude

Subscribe to GrandPrix+

Australian Muscle Car Magazine