GP Season Is Set

GP Season Is Set

Nine races including Turkey will finish the Formula One world championship in 2020.

Although the final shape of this year’s Supercars season is still fluid, with uncertainty around a planned double-header at Queensland Raceway in September and a potential grand final at Sydney Motorsport Park, Formula One has made its final changes.

Italy has three grands prix and there is a final double-header in the Middle East in the revised F1 calendar.

But China and Japan are definite casualties, along with the three American events – USA, Mexico and Canada – from the original calendar.

The revised program sees the series finishing two weeks later than last year and, for the first time, driving deeply into December in Bahrain and Abu Dhabi.

The final championship total is 17 races – provided there are no more adjustments because of COVID-19 – from the original calendar of 22 events.

“We are proud to announce that Turkey, Bahrain and Abu Dhabi will be part of our 2020 season,” says Chase Carrey, chairman and CEO of Formula 1.

“While we are all disappointed that we have not been able to return to some of our planned races this year we are confident our season has started well and will continue to deliver plenty of excitement with traditional, as well as new, races that will entertain all our fans.”

“This year has presented Formula 1 and the world with an unprecedented challenge and we want to pay tribute to everyone across Formula 1, the FIA, the teams, and our partners who have made this possible.”

The final calendar has Istanbul Park running for the first time since 2011, with Imola also a returnee and Mugello staging a grand prix for the first time.

“We can confirm that Turkey, Bahrain (hosting two races), and Abu Dhabi will be part of the revised season and want to express our thanks to the hard work of all our promoters and partners in making this 17-race season possible.

“Sadly, we will not be racing in China this season and want to thank our partner Juss Sports for their support and engagement in recent months and hugely look forward to returning to Shanghai next year.”

Details of the Formula One calendar follow significant changes to the look of this year’s World Rally Championship.

The season resumes in Estonia from September 4-6, followed by events in Turkey (September 18-20), Germany (October 15-18), Italy (October 29-November 1) and Belgium (November 19-22).

Rally casualties include Rally GP, Rally Finland and Rally Japan, with a more Euro-centric that includes Belgium for the first time in the city of Ypres.


Aug-30Spa – Belgium
Sep-06Monza – Italy
Sep-13Mugello  – Italy
Sep-27Sochi – Russia
Oct-25Portimao – Portugal
Nov-01Imola – Italy
Nov-15Istanbul – Turkey
Dec-13Abu Dhabi